What’s Holding You Back?

I’ve had a lot of time to reflect on what was, what is, and what will be. Today, a friend posted a picture of us together from 1986 on social media. We were two peas in a pod, as they say. Those years were some of the most spontaneous and fun times of my life.

I felt free, full of energy, and full of hope. Of course, I was only twenty-one, and now I’m fifty-nine. Yes, there’s a big difference. But when I think about who I was then compared to who I am now, I see a big difference in how I felt about my well-being. I handled stress differently. I did what pleased me.

I was healthier in almost every aspect except spiritually. I’m proud of who I’ve become in many ways. I’ve accomplished many things over thirty-plus years. But, I haven’t handled everyday stress or difficult situations well. I’ve allowed my health to suffer. There was a time when I took total control and became the healthiest I’ve been.

When will I retake control? How did I take control then? After thinking about it and seeing that photo, I realized what drove me to be so determined. I was fed up; I was angry at my tendency to wallow in self-doubt and a lost identity. At the age of twenty-one, I wanted to show the world who I was and what I was capable of.

I’ve experienced moments of self-worth and control, but those were short-lived. I’m getting fed up again. The word I chose for this year is FOCUS. And it’s about time I do that. I have things to do and accomplish- personal and professional.

I’m determined to go into my 60s in better shape than I was in my 50s.

Here’s to being fed up and taking back control.

Think about it. What’s holding you back?

6 thoughts on “What’s Holding You Back?

Add yours

  1. I’d point to a host of external things holding me back, but it really is my thoughts and feelings more so than anything. I think I need to sit with this reminder for a while, thank you, Jill! 💞

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑